Video Gaming Pains

November 24, 2006

Wow.. it’s been so long since I’ve been gaming that I forgot how painful it was! By gaming, I mean video games. I forgot how much time it takes to work through the nausea of the quick motion. Since starting up a couple of days ago, I’ve had to slowly increase my time from about 5 mins to roughly 20 mins. Generally, it’s not too bad if I take little breaks and remind myself to blink every now and then 🙂 In fact, last night, i was able to last roughly 30 mins of crazy Capture the Flag and Team Deathmatch action on Call of Duty 2.

In addition to the nausea, I’ve started experiencing some forearm pains. This is primarily due to the mouse and keyboard being on uneven planes on my desktop setup. Not too good for gaming, but I’ll adjust things soon.

I must thank my wife, because I couldn’t have done it without her. Huh.. ? You wonder? Well, she’s the one that’s been encouraging me to start up gaming again. I’ve been getting quite stressed at work and perhaps she feels going online to frag a few folks is the perfect outlet 🙂 However, it’s kind of embarrassing to let her watch me b/c I kinda suck right now.

On a side note, my video card went out on me! I guess perhaps my old Radeon 9600 Pro card wasn’t used to the gaming either and started whining due to the fan over the processor becoming loose. This kind of sucks b/c I was just starting to get the hang of things. Anyhoo, I placed an order for the Radeon X850 Pro today that should be arriving in the next couple of days. This should hold me over and not dip in the pockets too much. Luckily for me, my wife has graciously let me game on her Radeon 9800 Pro system during the interim.

Leave a Reply

