Vox: Easy Entry into Blogging

November 28, 2006

For all those readers hesitating to start a blog, Vox is an easy solution to your worries. I know, I know.. I’ve written about it before, but I just want to bring it up again.  Blogging is a good way of exploring ideas, connecting with like-minded folks, and just sharing thoughts. I like Vox due to it’s more “personal” approach with defined privacy filters.

The Wall Street Journal just did a good review of Vox and it’s features.  Want more, check out Team Vox: Vox in the News. Still not sold? Wondering why wujimon is pushing Vox when he already has his own blog?

I use Vox to write random thoughts that don’t necessarily pertain to taiji or technology. A lot of them are just ramblings and musings that I encounter during my day, nothing too thought-provoking or inspirational, just a place to jot things down. To get an idea, check out: wujimon on Vox.

6 Responses to “Vox: Easy Entry into Blogging”

  1. Cindy Says:

    Being able to share ideas within a private cicle is a great feature. However, forcing friends to register with vox in order to view the information may throw them away. Imagine this scenario:

    A: I have an idea to share with you.
    B: What is it?
    A: Blah blah blah…
    B: Great idea! Thanks! (B smiles and appreciates your idea)

    or

    A: I have an idea to share with you.
    B: What is it?
    A: Please register with vox first and then you will see my idea.
    B: Who is vox? Why should I give my information away? Thanks anyway. (B may not want to give his info away to vox and he may not care your idea either).

  2. wujimon Says:

    Hi Cindy. I see your logic above, however, how would you enforce privacy filters without the user registering? Via password-protected posts?

    Do you think that would be a better solution than to force registration? If so, it would put the admin tasks on the writer to keep track of their passwords for the various posts and then send emails to those people to share.

    I think Vox assumes that people defined in your “friends” or “family” circle will care and want to read your ideas. The key is, do they care enough to register and use this service or is it a hassle for them. But then the argument is, why not use email? The key is to bring people on board to this notion of “small-circle blogging”.

    One of my own gripes about the Vox service is forcing users to register to leave comments. To me, this is unnecessary and believe they will remove this limitation in a future release.

  3. Cindy Says:

    I think vox can just have the writers create some user names and passwords and send them to their friends. So their friends can view the blog without revealing their personal info. It is like you can give your extra house key to your friend so he/she can help you to feed your fish and water your flowers while you are on vacation.

  4. wujimon Says:

    This is the approach the wordpress.com uses for it’s “private” entries, however one of the main downfalls to this approach is that it displays a “password box” for the world to see. It’s like telling everyone you have private entries. In Vox’s approach, it’s all transparent. The world will never see any traces of entries that have defined privacy levels. Personally, I like Vox’s approach.

  5. Cindy Says:

    The world is wonderful because of different ideas and mental models and the acceptance by different people. I can see you really like vox. Enjoy it!

  6. wujimon Says:

    I first started blogging on LiveJournal back in like 2001 or so. To me, Vox is like LiveJournal 2.0, therefore feels almost “like home” 🙂


Leave a Reply

