Made the Switch to Mozy for Backups

September 26, 2007

For my off-site backup, I started off using Carbonite, however I had some issues with it but was unable to cancel since I paid for 1 year in advance.  Well, my Carbonite subscription has expired and I have signed up MozyHome.

The main reason for switching was the ability to use my own private encryption key. This means that data center employees cannot view the contents of my backup data. While the likelihood for this is low, it’s a possibility. Also, MozyHome allows for the restoration of versioned files. This is huge and something I do with my local backups using date based folders.

Do yourself a favor, implement some type of backup process today! You never know when disaster will strike and losing years worth of irreplaceable photos is, well…. Backup now! Even if you don’t sign up for an off-site solution, get yourself a USB external hard drive and automatically backup your hard drive using SyncBack. I use and highly recommend the paid version of SyncBack

Leave a Reply

