First Aquarium Casualty

October 19, 2007

It appears when I initially brought home the kribs, there were 2 males instead of a male/female pair. As such, over the last week or so, the dominant male has taken over the tank, sending the lowbie male off to seclusion in the corner of the tank. I thought perhaps adding more decorations and plants to reduce direct line of sight issues would lessen the aggression, but that didn’t seem to make a difference.

After arriving home from work last night, I looked for the less dominant krib only to find him keeled over under a driftwood structure. He was no longer moving and signs of aggression were apparent due to the nipped fins. The dominant male krib had taken his first causality.

I fished him out of the net and explained to my son that sometimes when fishies fight too much, one of them dies. He was a bit sad but I told him we would find another fish this weekend. The interesting thing is the dominant krib seems to leave the Otocinclus Cat alone. He most likely does not view this guy as a threat which gives me some hope that I could potentially add some Corydora Catfish to the mix.

Later in the evening, I decided to do a 10% water change. I grabbed the nifty Python No-Spill and proceeded on my way. After hooking up the attachment to the faucet in my bathroom, I took the cleaning end of the tube and put it in the tank. I sat perplexed for a bit as normally I would have my little sister suck on the end of the tube to start the siphon (I know, I’m a nice brother.. ) but I knew there had to be a better way.

So, I figured I would try to modify the faucet attachment to ‘drain’ and then turn on the water. To my surprise, the flow of water passing over the tube was enough pressure to create a suction and start the siphon! Water was flowing out of my tank at a steady pace. All was good. When the time was ready, I ran to the bathroom and modified the faucet attachment to the ‘fill’ position and began filling my tank. Easily and simple. The whole process including cleanup was completed in about 10 minutes! I would whole heartedly recommend the Python system to EVERYONE who has an aquarium with a tank size 20 gallons or larger!

One of the main differences between how I fill water now and back in the day is the lack of conditioning. Before, I kept a southeast Asian style tank in which the water was VERY soft with a low pH. As such, I had to condition the water quite a bit before adding it to the tank as most tap water is hard and high pH. This time with the krib setup, I’m keeping things simple by using the neutral pH (roughly 7.0 out of the tap) and only adding a pit of AquaPlus to remove some of the chlorine gas. That’s it.. nothing too fancy.

Overall, the addition of a planted aquarium has been great. My son loves watching the fishies swim around and he’s always poking at the ‘sucker fish’. I even involve him in the daily chores by letting him feed some fish pellets at dinner time. Additionally, it’s very relaxing to look and observe the happenings in the tank. It’s been so long since I had an aquarium (about 5 yrs) that I forgot how peaceful and tranquil it is. I’m glad I took my wife’s advice and just bought a fish tank to get the ball rolling.

2 Responses to “First Aquarium Casualty”

  1. Taijiquan in Tampa Says:

    Not to be picky but causality is a logic thing, casualty is what you mean.

  2. wujimon Says:

    Hey TJQ@Tampa! Great catch on the wording, I will definitely fix it.. excuse my brainfart 🙂


Leave a Reply

