World of Warcraft Grinding Burnout

January 9, 2008

Over the past couple of weeks or so, I have been feeling quite burned out on World of Warcraft (WoW). As such, I did a web search and noticed I was not the only one feeling the WoW Burnout.  I guess it happens to us all.

The first time I began noticing it was when I just felt sick and not wanting to play after logging in. I would gripe about the maintenance required with mail and banking before I could start playing. I would feel sick to my stomach if I had to kill 30 more mob X for a quest only to realize the next chain is to kill 50 more of some other mob.  I would get really upset if I didn’t get the dropped items I needed due to low drop rates.  I would get sick of the gankfest when all I wanted to do was quest in peace.

My solution to the above? Easy. Just stop playing. I did just that. I actually stopped playing for about a week and must admit it felt good. I had much more free time on my hands to do other chores and play other games. I did receive a bit of slack from my coworkers who also play as I was falling behind their level progression. So what if I’m 10 levels below them. It got to the point that I no longer cared.

Slowly, I started playing again but this time very casually instead of everyday. I played maybe 2x a week for 1 hour at most. Then suddenly, I hit level 56 with my hunter and I was on a mission because in just 2 levels I could enter the Outlands and get my riding epic mount. So, it started all over again and the grind was back on.

I played daily until I hit level 58 and entered the outlands. Noting the quest rewards I got in the Outlands blew away all other gear I had, I was excited. I got my first crossbow and was ecstatic.  I grinded more until I hit level 60.  Now I could drop 600 gold to get that prized epic riding mount which increases movement speed by 100% instead of 60%.

Last night, I logged on, purchased my epic riding mount, did some banking and vendoring of items and logged off. That was it.  I reached my goal, but now another carrot dangles on a stick before me. I still have 10 more levels to go before I reach the maximum level cap. Additionally, at level 70, I can get a flying mount. While there was more I could do, I just didn’t want to grind anymore.

Wikipedia defines grinding as:

Grinding is a pejorative term used in computer gaming to describe the process of engaging in repetitive and/or non-entertaining gameplay in order to gain access to other features within the game.

Source: Wikipedia – Grind (Gaming)

How true!  For me, grinding has become non-entertaining. In fact, I was so upset at the game a couple of weeks back that I tried to find another MMO to play. I signed up for the EverQuest 2 trial, checked out Tabula Rasa, installed Warcraft 3, played Call of Duty 4, purchased Mass Effect, downloaded the Civilization 4 trial, played Peggle Extreme, restarted Oblivion, the list goes on.

Finally, I decided that  I do not want another MMO in my life. They are just too much of a time sink for me and I could be doing other things like meditate, taiji, play other games that do not take up as much time. While I don’t plan to cancel my subscription or delete my character in WoW, I do plan on chilling out and relaxing. WoW will always be there when I want to play it.

One Response to “World of Warcraft Grinding Burnout”

  1. rickmatz Says:

    My first programming job was working on computer games.

    I really like Civ II, Civilization: Call to Power, and Civ III. I don’t however, have the time to put into it, if I’m going to have the time to do other things that I find more important: training, reading, etc.

    There are only so many hours in a day.

    I’ve been meaning to dust off my chess game and really apply myself to it again. When I was young, I was a pretty decent chess player. Maybe when my wife and I become empty nesters.


Leave a Reply

