The Disappearing Cucumber

March 11, 2008

cucumberDuring dinner preparation I recalled that corydoras and pl*cos like to munch on blanched cucumbers. So I saved the end cap, put it in the microwave for about 25 seconds, soaked in some cool water and put it into my tank. Initially, the cucumber landed in front of the Kribensis (krib) cave, so no one really went near it. Later that evening, I picked it up and moved it to the other side of the tank to allow a chance for the cories and pl*co to munch.

The next morning I checked the tank and the cucumber end cap was still there, barely touched. Checking online for some info, I heard some folks leave the veggies in for 1-2 days at most. This was good to hear as I was a bit worried about the effects of a decomposing veggie on my water quality.  I checked again after dinner and the cucumber was still there, unscathed.

The following day after dinner, I checked my tank and was unable to find the cucumber end cap! I looked at my tank from every angle and every side and nothing was to be found.  I can only assume it was completely gobbled up by my 3 corydora juliis and my gold spotted rubbermouth pl*co.  Super cool! I will definitely be adding more veggies to my tank.

Leave a Reply

