Clutter Begone

July 19, 2008

About a year ago, I realized the overwhelming amount of clutter that surrounded me. My desk had loose paper here and there, keys out and about, stacks of CD/DVD disks piled in various configurations. Basically, I just had too much stuff!

Then, I read some articles 43Folders in which Merlin Mann talks about his own war on clutter.  Based upon Merlin’s recommendation, I got a copy of It’s All Too Much by Peter Walsh.

Now that we are in the midst of selling our home and moving, the clutter has brought itself to the forefront.  One of the first things I have done is to prune the bookshelf by selling off a lot of books to Powell’s [hat tip to Unclutterer: Bringing your bookshelves back to order]. Even with that, I still had a full bookcase full of books that I will move with me.

Also, having a kid will definitely multiply the clutter if things are not kept in check. Another thing I started doing a while ago was to either take a digital picture or scan of my son’s artwork. This way, only the ‘keepers’ would stay and the rest would be tossed.

However, there is a big looming monster over my head that needs to be confronted and that’s the filing cabinet. Sure, I implemented some GTD (Getting Things Done) techniques to file things right away, but now I have way too much stuff in those folders. Time to toss those old credit card statements and utilities bills.

Leave a Reply

