A Fishy Weekend

December 7, 2009

The past weekend went by so quickly. All week, I have been preparing for receiving my new shellies! This included transferring the fish from my 20L to my 37H tank and changing out the substrate from gravel to sand.  Transferring the fish were easy as I just netted up 6 rasboras and simply moved them to my 37g tank that currently houses a breeding pair of kribs.

Saturday afternoon, I drove about 45 minutes to meet someone who drove 5+ hours for the upcoming swap meet! We met at the hotel lobby and did the exchange. I received 11 multies and 3 caudopunks!  Luckily I had spent the earlier week running around to the local fish and hobby stores to get some snail shells for the little guys.

Sunday morning was spent with the family driving to the local area swap meet. I was forewarned that I should arrive early as the swap meet can get pretty packed.  We arrived about 20 mins after the swap meet began.  The hotel had joined together 3 conference rooms for the swap meet. Some of the aisles were shoulder to shoulder with people looking at fish and supplies.

Luckily I had decided to take care of the fish purchase the day before as I could not imagine trying to find someone at the meet. There were tons of great fish selections available as well as lots of accessories too. I came away from the swap meet with some shells, rocks, driftwood and a prefilter.  Overall, it was a good event and I’m pretty sure I saved quite a bit of money on the purchase of the rocks and driftwood.

My son has been inquiring about when he could have a fish tank. He’s only 5 years old, but he’s been asking for an aquarium for some time now. What kind of fish guy am I if I can’t provide my son with his own aquarium? In fact, an aquarium is the first pet I ever had growing up. I remember my cousin giving me a 20H tank with angel fish and silver dollars as my first aquarium.

On the way home from the swap meet, we stopped at a local fish store and purchase a 10g starter kit that came with a full spectrum light, hood, filter and heater. A pretty good deal considering the price of heaters!  I let the little guy pick out a piece of decoration so he could identify with the aquarium.  He picked out a cannon and a sunken submarine. We purchased the cannon and I told him the submarine would come later as a surprise.  I generally try to avoid having “fake” decorations in my fish tank as I try to make things look at natural as possible, but for my 5 yr old son, I will make an exception ;) 

So, over the weekend, I’ve gone from a 2-tank guy to a 3-tank guy. I told my wife this is not really that much since I’ve met people that have 5, even 20 aquariums. At most, I may become a 4-tank guy if I am in need of a grow out tank for my shellies 😉

Leave a Reply

